About District

Araria district is one of the thirty-eight districts of Bihar state, India, and Araria town is the administrative headquarter of this district. Araria district is a part of Purnea division. The district occupies an area of 2830 sq km. It has a view of Mount Kanchenjunga(One of the great peaks of the Himalyan range) This district has total 2 sub- divisions namely Araria and Forbesganj and 9 blocks. Araria sub-division comprises six blocks: Araria, Jokihat, Kursakanta, Raniganj, Sikti and Palasi and Forbesganj sub-division comprises three blocks: Forbesganj, Narpatganj and Bhargama. There are six Vidhan Sabha constituencies in this district: Narpatganj, Raniganj(SC), Forbesganj, Araria, Jokihat and Sikti. All of these are part of Araria Lok Sabha constituency.

Origin of Name

During the British period, the area where Mr. Forbes’s bungalow was located was called “Residential Area”, which people abbreviated to R. Area. Over time, R. Area. acquired the pronunciation araria.


The territory of present-day district became Araria sub-division of the earstwhile Purnea district in 1964. Araria district was formed in January 1990 as one of the administrative districts of Bihar under Purnea division.


Araria district occupies an area of 2830 sq km. The major rivers of the district are Kosi, Suwara, Kali, Parmar and Koli.


Economy of araria district mainly depends on agriculture. Main agricultural produces of this district are paddy, maize and jute.


According to the 2011 census Araria district has a population of 28,11,569. The district has a population density of 993 inhabitants per square kilometre. Its population growth rate over the decade 2001-2011 was 30 %. Araria has a sex ratio of 921 females for every 1000 males and a literacy rate of 53.53%.